Jayhawks Receive Numerous Awards

With the regular season complete and a 12th straight title won by No. 1 Kansas, the Jayhawks were littered with awards.

Senior forward Perry Ellis was named to the Big 12 1st team, while Wayne Selden, Jr., and Frank Mason III were named to the 2nd team.

Junior center Landen Lucas and sophomore guard Devonte’ Graham made honorable mention, and Graham joined Mason on the all Big 12 defensive team.

The Big 12 conference awarded coach of the year to Texas Tech’s Tubby Smith, but the Associated Press, among others, selected Bill Self as Big 12 coach of the year.

Tuesday, USA Today chose Self as national coach of the year, while Perry Ellis has been listed by multiple outlets as a 2nd team All American. The fan-favorite averaged 16.5 points this season and hit a team-high 52% of his shots.

It isn’t shocking to see the Jayhawks receive so many accolades following a championship which was won in a year where the Big 12 featured as many as 6 ranked teams (currently has 6) throughout the season.

Heading into the Big 12 tournament, the Big 12 has three teams ranked among the top 10 in Kansas (1), Oklahoma (6), and West Virginia (9).

In need of tickets to the tournament this week? Head to Tickets For Less and choose from a variety of seating options at the best prices for all sessions to the Big 12 championship at Sprint Center in downtown Kansas City. Unlike our competitors, Tickets For Less never has and never will, tack on extra fees to your ticket purchase. Know what you’re paying for and don’t miss out on any of the heart-pounding action.

Posted in Kansas Jayhawks Basketball and tagged , , , , .